Saturday, 14th June saw the Currie Motors sponsored invitation race for teams of three drivers using standard Scalextric saloon cars. The circuit used was the Molesey Scalextric Club’s six-lane layout which, was set up in Currie Motors’ Molesey showrooms, and the event attracted six teams two sponsored by Currie Motors the other, four by Harkards Toy Shop (Walton), L. Harvey Engineering (Woking), Thermodifusion and R.A.E. Models (Weybridge).


The racing consisted of giving each team driver six 15-lap races, one on each lane of the circuit, thus each car had to cover a total of 270 laps in 18 races, The final results being worked out by totting up all results of each team driver.


At the end of the racing the winning team turned out to be the Ford Escort of Currie Motors ‘B’ Team, driven by Ted Franklin, Andy Probets and Steve Laming. In second place was the similar, car of Currie Motors ‘A’ team with the BMW Turbo of L. Harvey Engineering coming third


The last race of the day consisted of a final for the fastest individual drivers, which was won by Ian Jensen, using the L. Harvey Engineering car, followed by Ted Savage, driving The Hankards BMW Turbo, with Martin O'Reilly in third place.


The Junior class winner was Adrian George, from Hersham, and the winner of the ladies prize was Sally Phillips of Ashford


An enjoyable afternoon's racing was had, by all, and Currie Motors must be thanked for hosting the event. Thanks should also be extended to all club members who helped to organise the meeting. It is hoped that more meetings of a similar nature will be held in the near future.


The Molesey Scalextric Club meets on Alternate Wednesdays at the Watermans Arms, Hersham and new members or interested parties are always welcome For details contact the club Secretary Brian George.



Molesey Scalextric Club